Redesign of OpenOffice.org home page - OpenOffice.org Ninja

Redesign of OpenOffice.org home page

Posted by Andrew Z at Wednesday, March 26, 2008 | Permalink

Here's something while you are waiting for OpenOffice.org 2.4.0 final.

Maarten Brouwers announced that today around 20:00 CET (19:00 GMT, 2:00pm EST) we should see a new OpenOffice.org home like below. You can preview it at http://test.openoffice.org/.

Here's the current (old) page.

Some random trivia: During the period of anticipation and incubation before OpenOffice.org 2.0.0 was released, the seagull eggs were closed and the seagull was not shown:

OpenOffice.org open office seagull eggs closed

When 2.0.0 release candidate was available, the eggs cracked:

OpenOffice.org open office seagull eggs cracked

Finally, when 2.0.0 was finally released, the eggs hatched and the seagull emerged, which is what you see now.

2 comments:

Jaffer said...

Very nice design! Much better than the old one..

Aaron Strontsman said...

It's definitely cooler than the old one and it's clean, which is awesome.
My only criticism is that the header looks a bit faded and that the toolbox isn't easy to see, initially (yes, I admit that it is mainly for the already initiated).